And I resent this cartoonist for pointing me out like that, but we'll deal with him later. Seriously, Babs and I were out at our local hang last night to meet some friends from way back. The bar was jammed - as usual during snow bird season - almost exculsively people I didn't recognize. None of the regulars. Let's say there's 25 stools - I never actually counted 'em. Every seat taken, almost entirely by couples.
Damn near every other person was staring at their fucking phones. That's with three large screen TV's, two gorgeous bartenders and their friggin' loved ones sitting besides them. Did I mention the average age of all of 'em was hovering in the mid-60's?
So, yeah - it's not just the kids that are Jonesin' for social media. It's everyone. And another thing that's mostly about the young guns? They use their fuckin' phones to pay for their Slurpees and Fritos. That makes me totally crazy, but we'll talk about that some other time...



I was so caught up with you guys I didn’t even notice? But don’t doubt it!
ReplyDeleteI purposely leave the phone at the house most of the time. I have specialized ring tones for all my groups and all contacts are in a group. If I get the generic ring I usually ignore it. I disabled my voice mail because of the political calls that are starting to come in. Last weekend it shut off because it was dead. I figured that out Monday night and the last text was mid-day Friday.
ReplyDeletei like to read when i am at my local pub and some of them are on my phone so don't assume okay
ReplyDelete